Skip to main content

Ely Educational Foundation

What is the Foundation?

The Ely Educational Foundation is a non-profit corporation that provides a permanent source of financial support to Ely Public School District 696 and to its students and graduates. It was established in 1988. Its Funds are used to advance education in the form of scholarships and to enhance and improve the education system through special projects.

How can I help?

Donations and Gifts.  Individual giving through cash contributions and memorial gifts of any amount are accepted. Donations to the Educational Foundation, which has a 501(c)(3)tax-exempt status, are considered charitable gifts and are tax-deductible.

Planned Giving.  A planned gift allows a donor to make a more significant gift than was possible during his/her lifetime and provides a sustainable source of income for the Foundation. All contributions including estates, bequests, charitable trusts, life insurance, and gifts in kind are accepted.

Contact: Ann (Jamnick) Johnson, (218)-343-3610 with any questions

Donations can be mailed to: Ely Educational Foundation   P.O. Box 373   Ely, MN 55731

Who manages the foundation?

  • President: Bob Latourell, Class of 1988
  • Vice President: Ryan Anderson, Elk River High School, Class of 2000
  • Secretary: Derek Johnson, Class of 1990
  • Treasurer: Ann (Jamnick) Johnson, Class of 1989
  • Darlene (Preshiren) Nemanich, Class of 1959
  • Diana (Mavetz) Petrich, Class of 1979
  • Pam (Loe) Turnbull - Class of 1978
  • Michael Heiman - Class of 2009
  • Janet (Burck) Dunnom - Class of 1977
    The Superintendent of Schools, District 696, serves as an ex-officio member.