School Board Minutes (January 2009-August 2013)

Work Session


School Board Work Session                                                         September 13, 2010
          1.0     The work session of the School Board of Independent School District No. 696 was called to order by Chairman Marsnik at 5:30 p.m. in the school board meeting room.
2.0     The following directors were present: Erzar, Kellerman, Marsnik, York-Jesme, Richter. Absent: Pengal. Also present were  Donald Langan, Superintendent; Kim Belcastro, Director of Operations/High School Principal; Joselyn Murphy, Elementary Principal; Tom Coombe, Ely Echo; and Adam Masloski, Ely Timberjay.
3.0     Agenda:
3.1     Review of campus facility project:
a.       Kim Belcastro and Joselyn Murphy gave a tour of the campus
b.       The following dates were scheduled for community informational meetings for the bond referendum: Tuesday, September 28, 2010; Tuesday, October 12, 2010; and Thursday, October 28, 2010, all at 6:30 p.m. in the Memorial Media Center; there will be a question and answer opportunity at each meeting; the information discussed at each meeting will be placed on the district website the day following each meeting. Kellerman suggested Ely TV be contacted to record the meetings for broadcasting.
c.       A draft of an informational brochure regarding the 2010 facility improvement referendum being developed by Northland Securities was presented for review. When completed it will be reviewed by legal counsel and then placed on the district website.
d.       An advertisement will be published as soon as possible looking for community interest in forming a community committee regarding the bond referendum.
e.       Dr. Langan has been asked to give an informational presentation on the bond referendum to the Ely Rotary Club on October 20. Chairman Marsnik will confirm a presentation by Dr. Langan at the October 27th meeting of the Ely Area Development Association Joint Powers.
4.0     Adjournment:
4.1     Moved by Kellerman, seconded by York-Jesme, to adjourn at 6:55 p.m.
                                                          Scott C. Kellerman, Clerk